

PARLIAMENT OF TASMANIA

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE 'A' SUB COMMITTEE INQUIRY INTO HEALTH SERVICES IN TASMANIA

The Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'A' has recently determined to inquire into and report upon the resourcing of Tasmania's major hospitals to deliver acute health services, including mental health services, to the people of Tasmania, with particular reference to:

- (I) Current and projected state demand for acute health services;
- (2) Factors impacting on the capacity of each hospital to meet the current and projected demand in the provision of acute health services;
- (3) The adequacy and efficacy of current state and commonwealth funding arrangements;
- (4) The level of engagement with the private sector in the delivery of acute health services;
- (5) The impact, extent of and factors contributing to adverse patient outcomes in the delivery of acute health services: and
- (6) Any other matters incidental thereto.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations addressing the above terms of reference. Please note that submissions can be accepted on a confidential basis if so requested.

Electronic submissions are preferred and can be forwarded to the Inquiry Secretary via hst@parliament.tas.gov.au. Alternatively, written submissions can be forwarded to:

Ms Natasha Exel Inquiry Secretary Legislative Council Parliament House Hobart, TAS 7000 Tel: (03) 6212 2245

Submissions should be received no later than close of business, Friday 18 August 2017.

Submissions become the property of the Committee and should not be disclosed to any party prior to the Committee's final report. The Committee's Terms of Reference and other information are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (www.parliament.tas.gov.au) or by contacting the Inquiry Secretary.

Members of the Committee:

Hon Kerry Finch MLC, Member for Rosevears Hon Ruth Forrest MLC, Member for Murchison (Inquiry Deputy Chair) Hon Rob Valentine MLC, Member for Hobart (Inquiry Chair)