

Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

Media Advisory

Friday, 10 February 2023

Inquiry into Tasmanian Adult Imprisonment and Youth Detention Matters

On 27 October 2022, in accordance with the Legislative Council Sessional Order 5(14), Government Administration Committee 'B' resolved to form a committee to conduct an inquiry on the following Terms of Reference:

To inquire into and report upon Tasmanian corrective services and justice system matters related to adult imprisonment and youth detention including:

- 1. Factors influencing increases in Tasmania's prisoner population and associated costs:
- 2. The use of evidence-based strategies to reduce contact with the justice system and recidivism;
- 3. The provision of, and participation in, services for people in prison and leaving prison (health housing and legal services);
- 4. Training and support initiatives for corrective service staff related to increasing individual well-being, professionalism, resilience and reduced absenteeism;
- 5. Innovations and improvements to the management and delivery of corrective services that may be applied in Tasmania, including to future prison/detention centre design; and
- 6. Any other incidental matters.

The Committee intends to advertise the Inquiry in Tasmania's three main daily newspapers on Saturday, 18 February 2023 and call for submissions by Friday, 31 March 2023. The Inquiry webpage is here:

https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/Council/GovAdminB_Tasmanian%20Adult%20Imprisonment%20and%20Youth%20Detention%20Matters.html

Submissions received are generally made publicly available via the Inquiry webpage prior to the Committee tabling its final report. The Inquiry may accept confidential submissions but it should be noted that confidential information cannot be subsequently used in the Inquiry's Final Report. The Inquiry cannot consider or resolve any individual disputes.

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC
Hon Jane Howlett MLC
Hon Tania Rattray MLC (Chair)
Hon Rob Valentine MLC
Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Josh Willie MLC

Further information about the Committee is available on the <u>Committee website</u>. ends

Further information: Tania Rattray MLC (Inquiry Chair) – 0427 523 412