

Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

Media Advisory

Friday, 16 June 2023

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into Tasmanian Adult Imprisonment and Youth Detention Matters

Government Administration Committee B is undertaking a targeted inquiry into Tasmanian Adult Imprisonment and Youth Detention Matters with the following Terms of Reference:

To inquire into and report upon Tasmanian corrective services and justice system matters related to adult imprisonment and youth detention including:

- 1. Factors influencing increases in Tasmania's prisoner population and associated costs;
- 2. The use of evidence-based strategies to reduce contact with the justice system and recidivism;
- 3. The provision of, and participation in, services for people in prison and leaving prison (health housing and legal services);
- 4. Training and support initiatives for corrective service staff related to increasing individual well-being, professionalism, resilience and reduced absenteeism;
- 5. Innovations and improvements to the management and delivery of corrective services that may be applied in Tasmania, including to future prison/detention centre design; and
- 6. Any other incidental matters.

The Committee will conduct public hearings to obtain further details from submissions to the Inquiry. The first two days of hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 09:00 am on Tuesday, 20 June and Wednesday, 21 June 2023 respectively. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/.

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC (Deputy Chair)
Hon Rob Valentine MLC
Hon Jane Howlett MLC
Hon Tania Rattray MLC (Chair)
Hon Rob Valentine MLC
Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Josh Willie MLC

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

Further information: Tania Rattray MLC (Inquiry Chair) – 0427 523 412



Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into Tasmanian Adult Imprisonment and Youth Detention Matters

Date: Tuesday, 20 June 2023

Venue: Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time	Witnesses
09:00 am – 09:45 am	Anthony Bull (Submission #42)
09:45 am – 10:30 am	Heather Kent (Chief Executive Officer) Stephen Shreeve (Executive Manager) (Bethlehem House – Submission #36)
10:45 am – 11:30 am	Sarah Charlton (Chief Executive Officer) (Holyoake Tasmania Inc. – Submission #48)
11:30 am – 12:15 pm	Ben Moroney (State Manager Homelessness and Housing) (Salvation Army – Submission #53)
01:15 pm – 02:00 pm	TBC (Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre – Submission #59)
02:00 pm – 02:45 pm	Dr Sonny Atherton (Statewide Specialty Director) (Forensic Mental Health Service – Submission #46)

Date: Wednesday, 21 June 2023

Venue: Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time	Witnesses
09:00 am – 09:45 am	Dr Val Kitchener (Convenor, TasOPCAT Network) (TasOPCAT – Submission #18)
09:45 am – 10:30 am	Mr Michael Hill (Submission #3)
	TBC - Magistrate Reg Marron (Submission #62)
11:30 am – 12:15 pm	Mr Dean Maddock (Submission #8)
01:15 pm – 02:00 pm	Professor Rob White (Submission #30)
02:00 pm – 02:45 pm	Ben Bartl (Policy Officer Community Legal Centres Tas) Don McRae (Chief Executive Officer, JusTas) (Community Legal Centres Tas and JusTas – Submission #63)