

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Media Advisory

Tuesday, 25 March 2025

Public Hearings:

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart

Inquiry into the TT-Line Spirits Project

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) is finalising its targeted inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the planning for the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart. The Committee resolved to have an updated progress report from the proponent, Macquarie Point Development Corporation, and a briefing by Dr Nicholas Gruen with respect to his independent assessment of the proposed AFL stadium at Macquarie Point released earlier this year.

In addition, the Committee is undertaking a targeted inquiry into the TT-Lines Spirits Project and the Committee has resolved to hear from Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation (TASCORP) representatives with respect to TT-Line's recent breach of their debt arrangement with TASCORP.

The Committee will conduct public hearings to obtain further information to the Inquiry.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 9:30 am on Wednesday, 26 March 2025. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) Hon Luke Edmunds MLC Hon Bec Thomas MLC **House of Assembly**

Mr Simon Behrakis MP Mr Mark Shelton MP Mr Josh Willie MP (Deputy Chair)

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) - 0419 879 524



Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into the TT-Line Spirits Project

Date: Wednesday, 26 March 2025

Venue: Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time Witnesses

09:30 - 10:30 TASCORP

Mr Heath Baker (Chair)

Mr Tony Ferrall (Chief Executive Officer)

10:45 – 12:15 <u>Macquarie Point Development Corporation</u>

Mr Kim Evans (Chair)

Ms Anne Beach (Chief Executive Officer)

13:30 – 14:30 <u>Independent review of the Macquarie Point Stadium Report (January 2025)</u>

Dr Nicholas Gruen Mr Gene Tunny