

# LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

**SESSION OF 2022** 

(THIRD SESSION OF THE FIFTIETH PARLIAMENT)

# NOTICES OF MOTION AND ORDERS OF THE DAY

No. 1

### FRIDAY, 19 AUGUST 2022

(At 9.30 o'clock a.m.)

## **ORDERS OF THE DAY**

- 1 Police Offences Amendment (Workplace Protection) Bill 2022 (No. 15): Consideration of Bill as amended in Committee of the Whole Council.
- **2** Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Auditor-General's Report No. 4 of 2016-17: Event Funding": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **3** Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Auditor-General's Report No. 8 of 2018-19: Student Attendance and Engagement, Years 7 To 10": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **4** Report of the Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'A' Inquiry into Finfish Farming in Tasmania: Consideration and noting. (Ms *Webb*)
- 5 Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Selected Public Works Committee Reports 27 of 2015: Midland Highway, Mangalore to Bagdad Stage 1 and Midland Highway, Kempton to Melton Mowbray Stage 1; and 28 of 2015: Midland Highway, Perth to Breadalbane Duplication": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **6** Report of the Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B' Inquiry into Disability Services in Tasmania: Consideration and noting.
- 7 Report of the Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'A' Inquiry into the Roy Fagan Centre: Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **8** Partition Amendment Bill 2022 (No. 38): Second reading.

# **NOTICES OF MOTION**

- 1 Ms *Palmer* to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Notes the importance Little Athletics and similar organisations play in the social, physical and mental wellbeing of Tasmanian children.
- (2) Notes the grounding Little Athletics has given to Tasmanian athletes who have gone on to represent Tasmania and Australia on the National and International stage.
- (3) Acknowledges the significant role volunteers play within such organisations.
- (4) Notes the overall positive contribution such organisations make to the fabric of the Tasmanian society.

- **2** Ms *Rattray* to move That Statutory Rules 2021, No. 93, Nature Conservation (Wildlife) Regulations dated 22 November 2021 made under the *Nature Conservation Act 2002* and laid upon the Table of the Council on 4 May 2022, be disallowed as provided by Section 47 of the *Acts Interpretation Act 1931*.
- 3 Mr *Duigan* to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Notes that Hydro Tasmania was named as a finalist for the 2021 Clean Energy Council Awards in the Community Engagement category for their COVID-19 Recovery Program to assist Tasmanian communities in overcoming the challenges associated with the pandemic;
- (2) notes that Hydro Tasmania's program had two phases: the Sustain phase reassuring Tasmanians that essential energy generation would continue, while the Recovery phase partnered with community organisations to deliver initiatives to assist hard-hit sectors and vulnerable groups;
- (3) acknowledges that the program enabled community organisations to help more people affected by the pandemic and delivered a range of positive community initiatives across Tasmania; and
- (4) urges Hydro Tasmania to continue it endeavours to fully engage with the Tasmanian community as it develops its ongoing responses to deal with the COVID pandemic.
- 4 Ms Webb to move That a draft proclamation made under Section 11(2) of the Nature Conservation Act 2002, dated 26 May 2022 and laid upon the Table of the Council on 2 June 2022 and which draft proclamation declares areas of Crown land specified in Parts 1 to 10 of Schedule 1 to the draft proclamation to be reserved land, be disallowed in accordance with the provisions of s.18(3) of the Nature Conservation Act 2002.
- 5 Ms Webb to move That a draft proclamation made under Section 11(2) of the Nature Conservation Act 2002, dated 18 May 2022 and laid upon the Table of the Council on 2 June 2022 and which draft proclamation declares area of Crown land specified in Parts 1 to 11 of Schedule 1 to the draft proclamation to be reserved land, be disallowed in accordance with the provisions of s.18(3) of the Nature Conservation Act 2002.
- **6** Mrs *Hiscutt* to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Acknowledges the Tasmanian athletes who represented Australia at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games;
- (2) pays tribute to their dedication and hard work in realising their Commonwealth dream;
- (3) congratulates them all on a successful Commonwealth Games campaign with thirteen medals being won by Tasmanian athletes across a range of sports, including ten gold; and
- (4) recognises them as inspirational role models for our young Tasmanian athletes.
- 7 Ms *Armitage* to move That the report of the Auditor-General No. 7 of 2021-22, COVID-19 Response to social impacts: mental health and digital inclusion, be considered and noted.
- 8 Ms Armitage to move That the report of the Auditor-General No. 6 of 2021-22, Accessing services for the safety and wellbeing of children and young people the Strong Families, Safe Kids Advice and Referral Line, be considered and noted.

D.T. PEARCE, Clerk of the Council.

#### PAPERS ISSUED

### LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Notice Paper No. 14

### SUMMARY OF BILLS

Read First Time

Bill No. 38 Partition Amendment (pro forma).

Consideration of Bill as amended in Committee of the Whole Council

Bill No. 15 Police Offences Amendment (Workplace Protection).

#### STANDING COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

Committee of Privileges: Mr Farrell (The President), Ms Forrest (Chair of Committees), Mr Gaffney, Mrs Hiscutt and Ms Rattray.

Standing Orders Committee: The President (Mr Farrell), The Chair of Committees (Ms Forrest), Mrs Hiscutt, Ms Rattray and Mr Valentine.

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works (Joint): Ms Rattray and Mr Valentine.

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Subordinate Legislation (Joint): Ms Forrest, Mrs Hiscutt and Ms Rattray.

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Joint): Ms Forrest, Ms Webb and Mr Willie, Parliamentary Standing Committee on Integrity (Joint): Ms Armitage, Ms Palmer and Mr Valentine.

### SESSIONAL COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

House Committee (Joint): The President (Mr Farrell), Ms Forrest, and Mrs Hiscutt.

Library Committee (Joint): Ms Armitage, Mr Farrell, Ms Forrest, Ms Howlett, Ms Rattray and Mr Valentine. Government Administration A: Mr Duigan, Ms Forrest, Mr Gaffney, Mr Harriss, Ms Lovell and Ms Webb. Government Administration B: Ms Armitage, Ms Howlett, Ms Rattray, Mr Valentine and Mr Willie.

#### SELECT COMMITTEE AND MEMBERS

Road Safety in Tasmania: Ms Armitage, Ms Rattray and Mr Willie.

University of Tasmania Act 1992: Mr Duigan, Mr Gaffney, Ms Lovell, Mr Valentine and Ms Webb.