

## Legislative Council Select Committee

# **PRODUCTION OF DOCUMENTS**

### MEDIA ADVISORY Tuesday 11 June 2019

Following two recent refusals by Government Ministers to release documents to Parliamentary Committees, the Legislative Council resolved that a Select Committee be appointed, with power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of the Council, and with leave to adjourn from place to place, to inquire into and report upon—

The options for an agreed process to resolve disputes that arise regarding the production of papers, documents and records between the Government and the Legislative Council and its Committees including Joint Committees where Members of the Legislative Council have membership.

#### Members of the Committee are:

Hon Ivan Dean MLC, Independent Member for Windermere Hon Ruth Forrest MLC, Independent Member for Murchison (Chair) Hon Jane Howlett MLC, Liberal Member for Prosser (Deputy Chair) Hon Meg Webb MLC, Independent Member for Nelson Hon Josh Willie MLC, Labor Member for Elwick

The Committee advertised in Tasmania's three main daily newspapers on Saturday 8 June 2019 and call for submissions by close of business on Friday 26 July 2019.

Submissions should reflect the Committee's Term of Reference. Submissions become the property of the Committee and should not be disclosed to any party prior to the Committee's Final Report. Submissions received are generally published via the Committee website following review by the Committee. The Committee will accept confidential submissions upon request but it should be noted that confidential information cannot be subsequently included in the Committee's Final Report. Report.

The Committee may contact some individuals or entities that make submissions to invite them to appear at public hearings. The Committee may not contact everyone who makes a submission but will review all submissions and use them to inform the Committee's work.

#### For further information— Hon Ruth Forrest MLC, Chair 0419 879 524

ends