

Standing Committees on Government Administration A and B

Resolution of the House of Assembly of 23 May 2024, incorporating amendment to (7) of 11 June 2024

That the House of Assembly Standing Committees on Government Administration A and B be established as follows:—

- (1) That for the remainder of this Parliament, the Standing Committees on Government Administration A and B be established to inquire into and report upon any issues and legislative proposals arising within the scope of the committees as set out below.
- (2) Scope of the two committees is:—
 - (a) Government Administration Committee A:—
 - (i) Treasury;
 - (ii) Infrastructure;
 - (iii) Energy and Renewables;
 - (iv) Parks and Environment;
 - (v) Children and Youth;
 - (vi) Community Services;
 - (vii) Aboriginal Affairs;
 - (viii) Finance;
 - (ix) Local Government;
 - (x) Sports and Events;
 - (xi) Business, Industry and Resources;
 - (xii) Transport;
 - (xiii) Education; and
 - (xiv) Disability Services; and
 - (b) Government Administration Committee B:—
 - (i) Tourism and Hospitality;
 - (ii) Trade and Major Investment;
 - (iii) Primary Industries and Water;
 - (iv) Racing;
 - (v) Housing and Planning;
 - (vi) Police, Fire and Emergency Management;
 - (vii) Skills and Training;
 - (viii) Small Business and Consumer Affairs;
 - (ix) Corrections and Rehabilitation;
 - (x) Arts
 - (xi) Women and the Prevention of Family Violence;
 - (xii) Attorney-General;
 - (xiii) Justice;
 - (xiv) Health, Mental Health and Wellbeing; and
 - (xv) Veterans Affairs.

- (3) Members who are not members of the committees may participate in proceedings by asking questions of witnesses at the discretion of the Chair, but may not vote, move any motion or be counted for the purposes of a quorum.
- (4) Each member of the committees shall have a deliberative vote only.
- (5) It shall be open to any member of a committee to nominate in writing to the Chair of the committee a proxy to attend any meeting of a committee on behalf of the member. A proxy member shall exercise all the rights of an appointed member including voting rights at any meeting of a committee.
- (6) A quorum for any meeting of a committee shall be a majority of the committee (of whom one is the Chair of the committee or Deputy Chair) when the committee is hearing evidence but shall be four when deliberating.
- (7) References can be made to the committees in the following manner:—
 - (a) by Resolution of the House;
 - (b) by a Minister of the Crown; or
 - (c) by the Committee's own motion.
- (8) (a) except as provided in (b), the committees shall conduct all their affairs in public unless the committee by majority vote determines it is in the public interest to take evidence and/or deliberate in private; and
 - (b) in deliberating or in taking evidence on matters which are commercial-inconfidence the Committee shall sit in private.
- (9) That the committees have the power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of the House exceeding fourteen days, with leave to adjourn from place to place and with leave to report from time to time.
- (10) (a) a response by the Government to the recommendations contained in a report of a Standing Committee established in accordance with this order shall be laid upon the Table of the House within four months of the report having been brought up, provided, that should the Parliament not be sitting, the response may be lodged with the Clerk of the House for tabling on the next sitting day; and
 - (b) a response that is given to the Clerk under (a) is taken to have been published by order, or under the authority of, the House of Assembly.
- (11) That the following Members of this House be appointed to serve on the Government Administration Committee A:—

Two Members nominated by the Leader of the House;

Two Members nominated by the Leader of the Opposition;

One Member nominated by the Leader of The Greens;

One Member nominated by the JLN; and

One Independent Member.

(12) That the following Members of this House be appointed to serve on the Government Administration Committee B:—

Two Members nominated by the Leader of the House;

Two Members nominated by the Leader of the Opposition;

One Member nominated by the Leader of The Greens;

One Member nominated by the JLN; and

One Independent Member.