

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Thursday, 20 June 2024

The Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) was reestablished by joint resolution in the Fifty-First Parliament following the prorogation of the Fiftieth Parliament and dissolution of the House of Assembly (Proclamations issued 14 February 2024 by Her Excellency the Governor) due to the calling of an early general-election.

The Committee held its first meeting on 20 June 2024 to formally re-establish the Committee. The Independent Member for Murchison, the Hon Ruth Forrest MLC was re-elected Chair, and the Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP was re-elected Deputy Chair.

The Committee met with Julia Agostino, Motion for Respect - Independent Project Manager (IPM) and the Motion for Respect Project Team (MRPT).

The Committee received an update in relation to Motion for Respect Recommendation 3. Recommendation 3 reads as follows:

Acknowledge the need for change and initial steps for action

The Committee is to commission an independent review of Ministerial and Parliamentary Services organisational and governance structure, including an audit of instruments of appointment, employment conditions, recruitment processes and pay structures.

The IPM advised the Committee that the Workplace Research Associates (WRA) Report into the above recommendation had been finalised in February 2024. However, due to the prorogation of the Parliament, the Committee could not receive a copy the WRA Report.

The Motion to re-establish the Committee was agreed in both Houses of Parliament and the Committee met today for the first time this parliamentary session.

At today's meeting, the Committee resolved to receive briefings from the Clerks of the Parliament and Secretary of Department of Premier and Cabinet in relation to status progress updates against any relevant Motion for Respect Recommendations.

The Committee further resolved the IPM provide a *Motion for Respect Work Report - Project Status Summary to date* to report on all work undertaken since the prorogation of Parliament.

The Committee noted that once they had been informed of the progress against Motion for Respect recommendations the Committee will consider meeting with Principal, Dr Julie West, Workplace Research Associates and the IPM and MRPT to receive a briefing in relation to the WRA Report.

The Committee's next meeting will be held Friday, 28 June 2024.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, Implementation Trackers are available on the Committee's webpage to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the Motion for Respect Report to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy Chair)
The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP
Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC
Hon Sarah Lovell MLC
ends