

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Tuesday, 6 August 2024

On 6 August 2024, the Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met and received the following briefings:

- Sarah Bolt, Anti-Discrimination Commissioner, Equal Opportunity Tasmania regarding progress against Motion for Respect Recommendations.
- Julia Hickey and Laura Frost, Joint Acting CEOs of the Integrity Commission in relation to Members Code of Conduct (Motion for Respect Recommendation 6) and 'Ethics and integrity education for Members of Parliament.'

Further, the Committee received from the Independent Project Manager (IPM) a proposed project plan table. This table outlines proposed sharing of responsibilities between the Motion for Respect Team (MRPT), Ministerial and Parliamentary Services (MPS) and the Parliament of Tasmania for implementation of recommendations against Motion for Respect Recommendations. Consideration of this table was deferred due to time constraints and the Committee agreed to schedule a future date to allow for deliberation of this matter and other matters.

Also, the Committee received from the Clerks of the Parliament a written response to the WRA Report. The Committee resolved, to invite the Clerks to provide a briefing on this subject matter at the next meeting – 14 August 2024. Also, the MRPT will be providing the regular monthly briefing update in relation to progress against Motion for Respect Recommendations and an implementation tracker will be updated and published following this meeting.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, Implementation Trackers are available on the Committee's webpage to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the Motion for Respect Report to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy Chair)

The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP

Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP

Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)

Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC

Hon Sarah Lovell MLC

ends