

House of Assembly Government Administration Committee A

Inquiry into Discrimination and Bullying in Tasmanian Schools

MEDIA ADVISORY

PUBLIC HEARINGS AND SCHEDULES OF THE INQUIRY INTO DISCRIMINATION AND BULLYING IN TASMANIAN SCHOOLS

Wednesday, 6 November 2024

The House of Assembly Government Administration Committee A Inquiry into Discrimination and Bullying in Tasmanian Schools will be holding a hearing on Thursday 7 November 2024. The hearing will be held in Committee Room 1, at Parliament House.

The witness list for the hearing is attached.

Inquiry: "The House of Assembly House of Assembly Government Administration

Committee A Inquiry into Discrimination and Bullying in Tasmanian

Schools"

Date and time: Thursday 7 November 2024, Committee Room 1, Parliament House,

commencing at 9 a.m.

Broadcast: https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/stream/committee-room-one

Further information can be found on the Inquiry webpage at: https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/committees/house-of-assembly/standing-committees/government-administration-committee-a/inquiries/discrimination-and-bullying-in-tasmanian-schools

Or contact the Chair of the Committee, Ms Anita Dow MP, on 0498 965 560



Government Administration Committee A Inquiry into discrimination and bullying in Tasmanian schools

Committee Hearing Schedule

Date: Thursday 7 November 2024 (9am –4.15 pm) **Venue:** Parliament House Hobart - Committee room 1

9 a.m. – 9.45 a.m.	Working it Out
	- Daniel Howard - LGBTIQA+ Schools Inclusion Officer
	Submission No. 75
10 a.m. – 10.45 a.m.	Australian Education Union Tasmania Branch
	- David Genford – President
	- Brian Wightman – State Manager
	Submission No. 78
10.45 a.m. – 11.30 a.m.	Break
11:30 a.m. – 12.20 p.m.	Department for Education, Children and Young People
	- Hon Jo Palmer MLC, Minister for Education (WebEx)
	- Jenny Burgess - Associate Secretary, DECYP (WebEx)
	In person in Hobart;
	- Ginna Webster - Acting Secretary, DECYP
	- Ruth Davidson - Deputy Secretary Continuous
	Improvement and Evaluation, DECYP
	Submission No. 74
12.20 p.m1.30 p.m.	Break
	1 10 1100 (1115)
1.30 p.m. – 2.15 p.m.	Lexi Rockliffe (WebEx)
	C. hustastan Na. 222
	Submission No. 290
2.30 p.m. – 3.15 p.m.	Commissioner for Children and Young People (Tas)
	- Isabelle Crompton – Interim Commissioner for Children
	and Young People
	Submission No. 278
3.30 p.m. – 4.15 p.m.	Australian Association of Christian Schools
	- Vanessa Cheng – Executive Officer
	- David Gillman – CEO of Christian Schools Tasmania
	Submission No. 291