

Joint Standing Committee on Community Development

Inquiry into Strategies for the Prevention of Suicide

The Parliamentary Joint Standing Committee on Community Development has resolved to inquire into and report to Parliament upon the issue of suicide prevention with the following terms of reference:

The Committee will examine the effectiveness of current national and local strategies in addressing the issue of suicide and suicide prevention in Tasmania in a range of settings with particular attention to:

- 1. The role of non-government organisations and other community and business partners in progressing suicide prevention in Tasmania;
- 2. The investigation of strategies to address the needs of the highest risk group in Tasmania Men aged 25-44 years.
- 3. Determining the availability of data collection resources and opportunities for research to identify State specific trends;
- 4. The role of the Tasmanian media in suicide prevention;
- 5. The opportunities in the workplace to promote wellness and suicide prevention.
- 6. And any other relevant matters.

The Committee invites individuals and organizations with an interest in this matter to provide a written submission prior to the close of business on Monday 16 May 2005.

Submissions become Committee documents and are made public only after a decision by the Committee. Persons making submissions must not release them without the approval of the Committee. Submissions are protected by parliamentary privilege but the unauthorised release of them is not. The Committee encourages the lodgement of submissions in electronic form. Emailed submissions must include name, phone number and postal address. Guidelines for witnesses and the preparation of a submission are available on the Internet at http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/, or by phoning the Secretary on 6233 3098.

Submissions will be accepted in written or electronic form and should be addressed to:

The Secretary Community Development Committee Parliament House Hobart 7000 Ph. (03) 6233 2248 Fax. (03) 6233 8103

Email. committees@parliament.tas.gov.au