

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Friday, 28 June 2024

The Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met on Friday, 28 June 2024. At this meeting, the Committee received from the IPM (in relation to Motion for Respect Recommendation 3) a copy of the Workplace Research – *Report on the Structure of the Tasmanian Parliamentary Services* – February 2024. The Committee further resolved to invite Principal Dr Julie West, Workplace Research Associates (WRA), the IPM and Motion for Respect Team (MRPT) to provide a briefing at the next meeting in relation to the above report.

Motion for Respect Recommendation 3 reads as follows —

Acknowledge the need for change and initial steps for action

The Committee is to commission an independent review of Ministerial and Parliamentary Services organisational and governance structure, including an audit of instruments of appointment, employment conditions, recruitment processes and pay structures.

The Committee's next meeting will be held on Thursday, 4 July 2024.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, <u>Implementation Trackers</u> are available on the Committee's <u>webpage</u> to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the <u>Motion for Respect Report</u> to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy Chair)
The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP
Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC
Hon Sarah Lovell MLC
ends