

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Wednesday, 17 July 2024

On 17 July 2024, the Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met and received a briefing from the Motion for Respect Project Team (MRPT) in relation to a progress update against implementation of Motion for Respect Recommendations. Following this briefing, the Committee resolved to write to the IPM requesting a proposed project plan table be provided outlining possible sharing of responsibilities for implementation of recommendations against Motion for Respect Recommendations between the MRPT, Ministerial and Parliamentary Services (MPS) and the Parliament of Tasmania. The Committee will consider this proposed project plan table at the next meeting on 6 August 2024.

In addition, the Committee received all documents as per the Committee's request following the briefing on 4 July 2024 from the Clerks of the Parliament of Tasmania and DPAC Secretary. The latest implementation tracker (dated 17 July 2024) has been updated to reflect the information provided from the Clerks of the Parliament of Tasmania, DPAC Secretary and MRPT.

Further, the Committee acknowledged the work progressed to date by the Clerks of the Parliament and DPAC Secretary in relation to implementation against Motion for Respect Recommendations.

On 6 August 2024, the Committee is scheduled to meet to meet with the Anti-Discrimination Commissioner to discuss progress against Motion for Respect Recommendations. Also, at this meeting the Integrity Commission will be providing a briefing in relation to 'Ethics and integrity education for Members of Parliament' and 'Members Code of Conduct'.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, <u>Implementation Trackers</u> are available on the Committee's <u>webpage</u> to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the <u>Motion for Respect Report</u> to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy Chair)

The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP

Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP

Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)

Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC

Hon Sarah Lovell MLC

ends