(No. 17.)



1857.

TASMANIA.

PETITION

FROM SABBATH SCHOOL TEACHERS, LAUNCESTON.—SUNDAY CLAUSE.

Presented by Mr. Crookes, and ordered by the House to be printed, 28 October, 1857.

No. 17.)



To the Honourable the House of Assembly of Tasmania, in Parliament assembled.

The Petition of the undersigned Sabbath School Teachers in the Town of Launceston.

HUMBLY SHOWETH:

THAT one very important duty devolving upon your Petitioners, is to impress upon the children committed to their care the imperative necessity of keeping holy the Sabbathday.

That the existing Law, by prohibiting the opening of Public-houses for the Sale of Liquors on the Sunday, distinctly recognises the sacredness of the Sabbath; and has proved extremely beneficial to the community, in the promotion of morality and good order.

That your Petitioners have observed with deep regret, that a Bill is now before your Honourable House for the regulating of the Law relating to the Sale of Liquors whereby it is proposed to legalise the opening of Public-houses for the Sale of Liquors during certain hours on Sundays, which, if passed into a Law, must be attended with the most serious and injurious consequences, by practically manifesting to the rising race, that what your Petitioners on the authority of the Bible teach, and what the existing Law recognises, is no longer necessary.

Your Petitioners therefore humbly pray, that the present Law which prohibits the Sale of Liquors on Sundays may not be altered.

And your Petitioners will ever pray, &c.

Abraham Barrett. C. Spotswood. Thomas Brain. George Boon. William Thompson. George Thompson. Charles Peppiatt. William Evans, Richard Green. John Tevelein. Richard Green. Robert Harris Alfred Green. John Tevelein, junr. James Tevelein. D. Wilkins. J. Aikenhead. Charles S. Price. D. Room. William Gurr. B. Pescodd.

R. R. Cowl. Samuel J. Sutton. Thomas Ridge. William Tyson. John Gurr. John W. Gleadow. Matthew Tyson. John Drysdale. W. Clayton. Frank Hart. H. Crocker, junr. Daniel Smith. E. J. Manton. R. S. Gleadow. Richard Bonner. Thomas Clarke. John Bennell. J. B. Sim. E. H. Ditcham. T. Smith. Robert Pridd.

C. S. Sutton. T. J. Bonner. William Hart. W. H. Bonner. W. L. Lloyd. Robert Purse. George Bonner. Thomas Wilson W. Dawson. Sydney Bailey. Thomas Stubbs. Ecury Stephens, junr. Robert Kenworthy. John Sinclair. Walter Hopwood. John Swain. J. W. Topp. J. S. Waddell. William Hills. .Alexander Duthie.

JAMES BARNARD, GOVERNMENT PRINTER, TASMANIA.