

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEE PREVENTATIVE HEALTH CARE

The Parliament of Tasmania has established a Joint Select Committee to inquire into and report upon -

- (1) The current impact of inequalities in the major social determinants of health on the health outcomes, including mental health outcomes, of Tasmanians and the capacity for health and community services to meet the needs of populations adversely affected by the social determinants of health;
- (2) The challenges to, and benefits of, the provision of an integrated and collaborative preventive health care model which focuses on the prevention and early detection of, and intervention for, chronic disease:
- (3) Structural and economic reforms that may be required to promote and facilitate the integration of a preventive approach to health and wellbeing, including the consideration of funding models;
- (4) The extent to which experience and expertise in the social determinants of health is appropriately represented on whole of government committees or advisory groups;
- (5) The level of government and other funding provided for research into the social determinants of health; and
- (6) Any other matters incidental thereto;

The Committee invites written submissions or requests to present verbal evidence from interested individuals or organisations. **Electronic submissions are encouraged** and all submissions can be provided to:

The Secretary, Joint Select Committee on Preventative Health Care Legislative Council, Parliament House

HOBART 7000

phc@parliament.tas.gov.au

Phone: (03) 6212 2300 / Fax: (03) 6212 2345

Submissions become the property of the Committee and should not be disclosed to any party prior to the Committee's final report. The Committee's Terms of Reference are also available on the Parliament of Tasmania website (www.parliament.tas.gov.au)

Submissions and requests should be received at the above address by **no later** than close of business on **Monday 16 February 2015**.

Members of the Committee:

Legislative Council Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) Michael Gaffney MLC Adriana Taylor MLC Rob Valentine MLC House of Assembly

Guy Barnett MP Roger Jaensch MP Cassy O'Connor MP Rebecca White MP