

MEDIA ADVISORY

Friday, 25 November 2016

WILD FALLOW DEER INQUIRY PUBLIC HEARINGS

The Legislative Council's Government Administration Committee 'A' Inquiry into wild fallow deer will hold public hearings in Hobart on **Tuesday, 29 November and Wednesday, 30 November 2016**. The hearings will be streamed.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House Hobart, and will commence on Tuesday at 10.00 am until approximately 4.30 pm and resume on Wednesday at 10.00 am and are expected to conclude at approximately 12.45 pm.

TIMETABLE FOR THE HEARINGS AND DETAILS OF WITNESSES ARE ATTACHED.

The Members of the Committee are:

Hon Robert Armstrong MLC (Inquiry Chair) Hon Craig Farrell MLC Hon Mike Gaffney MLC Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC Hon Tony Mulder MLC Hon Tania Rattray MLC

ends

For further information: Robert Armstrong MLC - 0418 951 820



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE A

INQUIRY – DEER

PUBLIC HEARINGS

COMMITTEE ROOM 2, PARLIAMENT HOUSE, HOBART

Tuesday, 29 November 2016

10.00 am	Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Wildlife and Environment <i>Departmental Officers (tbc)</i>
11.30 am	John Toohey
12.00 pm	Sporting Shooters Association of Australia (Tas) Donald Riddel Alan Kenny
1.00 pm	LUNCH BREAK
2.00 pm	Tasmanian Deer Advisory Committee Matthew Allen, Chair
2.30 pm	Tasmanian Land Conservancy Dr Sally Bryant, Manager, Science and Planning
3.00 pm	School of Biological Sciences, UTAS Profs Ted Lefroy, David Bowman, Christopher Johnson
3.30 pm	Bob Brown Foundation Dr Bob Brown, President
4.00 pm	Greening Australia Sebastian Burgess, Director of Conservation

Wednesday, 30 November 2016

10.00 am	Gerard Brereton
10.30 am	Lenah Game Meats John Kelly
11.00 am	Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association <i>Peter Skillern, Chief Executive Officer</i> <i>Nick Steel, Rural Affairs Manager</i> <i>Don Jones, Chair</i>
11.45 am	Springfield Deer Farm Michal Frydrych
12.15 pm	Anthony Archer