

Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

Media Advisory

Wednesday, 12 April 2023

Public Hearing: Short Inquiry into the role and functions of the Office of Racing Integrity

Government Administration Committee B is undertaking a targeted inquiry into the role and functions of the Office of Racing Integrity with the following Terms of Reference:

- 1. To review and report on the functions of the Office of Racing Integrity, including:
 - a. the regulation of the State's racing codes including how the Rules of Racing are effectively enforced and investigated; and
 - b. monitoring of the conduct of race meetings statewide;
- 2. Progress on implementing the recommendations covered by the Review of the Racing Regulation *Act 2004: Securing the Integrity of the Tasmanian Racing Industry (the Monteith Review); and*
- 3. Any other matter incidental thereto.

The Committee will conduct a public hearing to obtain further details from submissions to the Inquiry. The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 10:30 am on Thursday, 13 April 2023. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link <u>http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/</u>.

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC (Deputy Chair)	Hon Rob Valentine MLC
Hon Jane Howlett MLC	Hon Meg Webb MLC
Hon Tania Rattray MLC (Chair)	Hon Josh Willie MLC

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

Further information: Tania Rattray MLC (Inquiry Chair) - 0427 523 412



Legislative Council Government Administration Committee 'B'

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Short Inquiry into the role and functions of the Office of Racing Integrity

- Date: Thursday, 13 April 2023
- Venue: Committee Room 2 Parliament House, Hobart

Time Witnesses

10:30 am – 12:30 pm Hon Madeleine Ogilvie MP Minister for Racing

> Department of Natural Resources and Environment Representatives Mr Jason Jacobi (Acting Secretary) Ms Deidre Wilson (Deputy Secretary)

Office of Racing Integrity Representative Mr Russell Hunter (Acting Director of Racing and General Manager of the Office of Racing Integrity)