

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Media Advisory

Wednesday, 22 March 2023

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) is undertaking a targeted inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart.

The Committee will consider amongst other factors the process used to select the Macquarie Point site, the costs (initial and future) of building, maintaining and operating the same, and the assumptions that underpin the feasibility and sustainability of the proposed Hobart stadium.

The Committee will conduct a public hearing to obtain further details from submissions to the Inquiry.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 9:00 am on Friday, 24 March 2023. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative CouncilHouse of AssemblyHon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)Ms Lara Alexander MPHon Meg Webb MLCDr Shane Broad MPHon Josh Willie MLCMr Dean Young MP

Further information about the Committee is available on the <u>Committee website</u>.

ends

Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) – 0419 879 524



Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the feasibility planning for a new sporting and event stadium in Hobart

Date: Friday, 24 March 2023

Venue: Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time Witnesses

9:00 am - 11:00 am **Hon Guy Barnett MP**

Minister for State Development, Construction and Housing

Departmental of State Growth Representatives

Mr Kim Evans (Secretary)

Mr Gary Swain (Deputy Secretary)
Mr Brett Stewart (Deputy Secretary)

Mr Andrew Finch (Executive Director, Major Stadiums) Mr Adam Sproule (Director, Tasmanian Institute of Sport)

Ms Anne Beach (Acting Chief Executive Officer)

Macquarie Point Development Corporation

11:00 am – 12:00 noon Mr John Hardy (Chief Executive Officer)

Returned and Services League Tasmania