

Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Tuesday, 21 January 2025

The Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) writes to advise the Motion for Respect Independent Project Manager (IPM) resigned early January 2025. The Committee met to discuss options for progression of remaining Motion for Respect Recommendations that were previously assigned to the IPM.

The Committee resolved to engage Mr Andrew Young as consultant to the Committee to oversee the remaining recommendations previously assigned to the Motion for Respect Independent Project Manager. Mr Young has extensive experience, previously employed as a Clerk and Clerk of the Parliaments in Victoria, and the lead author of the recent CPA publication of standards for codes of conduct for Members and parliamentary workplaces. Mr Young will also provide direction and support to the Motion for Respect Project Staff.

The Committee thanks the IPM for the work done to date which has contributed in providing a safer and respectful work environment for employees in Ministerial and Parliamentary Services.

The Committee received a report update from the Motion for Respect Project Team (MRPT) The January 2025 implementation tracker has been updated to reflect this latest report and is available on the Committee's webpage. The Committee is scheduled to next meet on Thursday, 13 February 2025.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, Implementation Trackers are available on the Committee's webpage to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the Motion for Respect Report to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy

Chair)

The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP

Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP

Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

ends

Legislative Council

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)

Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC

Hon Sarah Lovell MLC