

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

SESSION OF 2022

(SECOND SESSION OF THE FIFTIETH PARLIAMENT)

NOTICES OF MOTION AND ORDERS OF THE DAY

No. 4

TUESDAY, 24 MAY 2022

(At 11.00 o'clock a.m.)

NOTICES OF MOTION

- 1 Ms Forrest to move That a Joint Sessional Gender and Equality Committee be appointed with power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of either House and with leave to adjourn from place to place to inquire into and report upon —
- (1) (a) Any Bill referred to it by either House in order to examine gender and equality impacts;
 - (b) Any matter related to gender and equality referred to it by either House; and
 - (c) Any matter related to gender and equality, initiated by its own motion; and
- (2) That Notice of any own Motion Inquiry shall be reported to both Houses within two (2) sitting days of the Committee's Resolution; and
- (3) That the number of Members to serve on the said Committee on the part of the Legislative Council be four.
- 2 Ms Forrest to move That the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts final report, "Inquiry into the Government's Economic Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic", be considered and noted.
- 3 Mr Duigan to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Recognises Ukrainian territorial sovereignty and its right to peace, freedom, and democratic rule.
- (2) Notes
 - (a) that Tasmania is home to both Ukrainian and Russian communities who have received this news with deep concern for their loved ones, and we stand with all Tasmanians in wishing to provide care and support for those communities; and
 - (b) Tasmania stands with the Australian Government in affirming our respect for Ukrainian territorial sovereignty and its right to peace, freedom, and democratic rule.
- (3) Acknowledges that there is no justification for this aggression and condemns the aggressive action which has been borne by innocent Ukrainians.
- (4) Further notes that Tasmania has a strong history of welcoming and providing support for national efforts in providing humanitarian responses to previous conflicts and will continue to work with the Australian Government in jointly responding to the unfolding events.
- 4 Mr *Duigan* to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Notes that Hydro Tasmania was named as a finalist for the 2021 Clean Energy Council Awards in the Community Engagement category for their COVID-19 Recovery Program to assist Tasmanian communities in overcoming the challenges associated with the pandemic;
- (2) Notes that Hydro Tasmania's program had two phases: the Sustain phase reassuring Tasmanians

- that essential energy generation would continue, while the Recovery phase partnered with community organisations to deliver initiatives to assist hard-hit sectors and vulnerable groups;
- (3) Acknowledges that the program enabled community organisations to help more people affected by the pandemic and delivered a range of positive community initiatives across Tasmania; and
- (4) Urges Hydro Tasmania to continue it endeavours to fully engage with the Tasmanian community as it develops its ongoing responses to deal with the COVID pandemic.
- 5 Ms *Palmer* to move That the Legislative Council —
- (1) Notes the importance Little Athletics and similar organisations play in the social, physical and mental wellbeing of Tasmanian children.
- (2) Notes the grounding Little Athletics has given to Tasmanian athletes who have gone on to represent Tasmania and Australia on the National and International stage.
- (3) Acknowledges the significant role volunteers play within such organisations.
- (4) Notes the overall positive contribution such organisations make to the fabric of the Tasmanian society.
- 6 Mr Valentine to move That a Select Committee be appointed, with power to send for persons and papers, with leave to sit during any adjournment of the Council, and with leave to adjourn from place to place, to inquire into and report upon the provisions of the *University of Tasmania Act 1992* with particular reference to —
- (1) The constitution, functions and powers of the University;
- (2) The constitution, role, powers and obligations of the Council and Academic Senate;
- (3) The appropriateness of the Act to ensure accountable executive, fiscal and academic decision-making;
- (4) The appropriateness of the Act to protect and promote academic freedom, independence and autonomy; and
- (5) Any other matters incidental thereto.

And that —

Mr Duigan;

Mr *Gaffney*;

Ms Sieika

Ms Webb: and

The Mover be of the Committee

ORDERS OF THE DAY

- **1** Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Auditor-General's Report No. 4 of 2016-17: Event Funding": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- 2 Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts "Review of Auditor-General's Report No. 8 of 2018-19: Student Attendance and Engagement, Years 7 To 10": Consideration and noting. (Ms *Forrest*)
- **3** Appropriation (Supplementary Appropriation for 2021/22) Bill 2022 (No. 14): Second reading.
- 4 Criminal Code Amendment Bill 2022 (No. 4): Second reading.
- 5 Youth Justice Amendment (Searches in Custody) Bill 2022 (No. 9): Second reading.
- **6** Partition Bill 2022 (No. 22): Second reading.

D.T. PEARCE, Clerk of the Council.

PAPERS ISSUED

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Notice Paper No. 3

SUMMARY OF BILLS

Read First Time

Bill No. 4	Criminal Code Amendment.
Bill No. 9	Youth Justice Amendment (Searches in Custody).
Bill No. 14	Appropriation (Supplementary Appropriation for 2021/22).
Bill No. 22	Partition (pro forma).
	Agreed to by Both Houses
Bill No. 6	Land Tax Rating Amendment (Act No. 10 of 2022).
Bill No. 13	Forest Practices Amendment (Validation) (Act No. 11 of 2022).

STANDING COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

Committee of Privileges: Mr Farrell (The President), Ms Forrest (Chair of Committees), Mr Gaffney and Mrs Hiscutt. Standing Orders Committee: The President (Mr Farrell), The Chair of Committees (Ms Forrest), Mrs Hiscutt and Mr Valentine.

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Public Works (Joint): Mr Valentine.

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Subordinate Legislation (Joint): Ms Forrest and Ms Webb. Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Joint): Ms Forrest and Ms Webb. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Integrity (Joint): Ms Armitage, Ms Palmer and Mr Valentine.

SESSIONAL COMMITTEES AND MEMBERS

House Committee (Joint): The President (Mr Farrell), Ms Forrest, Mrs Hiscutt.

Library Committee (Joint): Ms Armitage, Mr Farrell, Ms Forrest, Ms Howlett and Mr Valentine.

Government Administration A: Mr Duigan, Ms Forrest, Mr Gaffney, Ms Lovell and Ms Webb.

- Rural Health Services.
- Finfish Farming in Tasmania: Mr Valentine (substitute member with leave from Government Administration B).
- The Roy Fagan Centre Short Inquiry Process (SIP).

Government Administration B: Ms Armitage, Ms Howlett, Ms Siejka and Mr Valentine.

· Disability Services.

SELECT COMMITTEE AND MEMBERS

Road Safety in Tasmania: Ms Armitage and Ms Palmer.