MEDIA RELEASE -

-



House of Assembly Standing Committee on Community Development

4 August 2016

Inquiry into Palliative Care

The Standing Committee on Community Development will be holding public hearings in Hobart at Parliament House on 8 and 9 August and in Launceston on 10 August 2016 in relation to its Inquiry into Palliative Care.

The Committee will hear from doctors, academics, healthcare providers, advocacy groups and members of the public.

The schedule for the hearings are as follows:

monday of hagast zoro - i amanent nouse, nobart			
Time	Witness	Organisation	
10:00am	Fiona Onslow & Kim McGowan	The District Nurses	
10:30am	Dr Helen Lord	Anglican Church of Tasmania	
11:00am	Ms Alison Lennox		
11:30am	TEA BREAK		
11:45am	Mr Tim Hynes	Motor Neurone Disease Association of	
		Tasmania Inc.	
12:15pm	Dr Jackie Hallam & Dr Becky Shelley	Alcohol, Tobacco and other Drugs Council	
12:45pm	Colleen Johnstone	Palliative Care Tasmania	
1:15pm	LUNCH		
2:30pm	Professor Michael Ashby	University of Tasmania	
3:00pm	Margaret Sing	Dying with Dignity	

Monday 8 August 2016 – Parliament House, Hobart

Tuesday 9 August 2016 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time	Witness	
10:30am		Office of Life, Marriage and Family,
	Brigid McKenna	Archdiocese of Hobart
11:00am	Professor Ben Canny	Faculty of Health, University of Tasmania
11:30am	TEA BREAK	
11:45am	Professor Margaret Otlowski	University of Tasmania
12:45pm		HOPE: Preventing Euthanasia & Assisted
	Paul Russell (Conference Call)	Suicide Inc.
1:15pm	LUNCH	
2:00pm	Dr Bruce Rumbold OAM	La Trobe University
	(Conference Call)	

Wednesday 10 August 2016 – Henty House, Launceston

Time	Witness	
10:30am	Dr Rosemary Ramsay	Rural Clinical School, School of Medicine
11:00am	Mr Robert Richardson	
11:30am	TEA BREAK	
11:30am		Calvary Health Care Tasmania, St Luke's
	Allison Campbell	Hospital
12:00pm	Lyn Irwin	Friends of Northern Hospice
12:30pm		Hospice Care Association of North West
	Lois Berry & Janice Lipscombe	Tasmania Inc.

Members of the Committee are:

- Mrs Joan Rylah, MP (Acting Chair)
- Mr Adam Brooks, MP
- Ms Andrea Dawkins, MP
- Mr Roger Jaensch, MP
- Ms Madeleine Ogilvie, MP