

p:+ 61 3 6212 2331 e: <u>catherine.vickers@parliament.tas.gov.au</u>
Parliament of Tasmania, Hobart, TAS 7000
www.parliament.tas.gov.au

31 October 2023

MEMORANDUM FOR:

Clerk-Assistant & Usher of the Black Rod

I write to advise that the Legislative Council today resolved —

That two Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees be established to inquire into Government Businesses in accordance with the schedule detailed below and rules as set out in the Standing Orders at Part 22.

That the Committees have leave to sit on Thursday, 23 November and Friday, 24 November 2023 between the hours of 9.00 a.m. and 6.30 p.m. or such other time as varied by the Chair and as necessary for the purpose of relevant stakeholder and deliberative meetings.

For 2023 Government Businesses are allocated to the Committees as follows:—

Committee 'A'

Thursday, 23 November 2023 TasNetworks Pty Ltd, Tasmanian Ports Corporation Pty Ltd, Hydro Tasmania

Committee 'B'

Friday, 24 November 2023 Public Trustee, TT Line Company Pty Ltd, Sustainable Timber Tasmania

And that:-

Mr Edmunds, Ms Forrest, Mr Gaffney, Mr Harriss, and Ms Lovell be of Committee 'A'

and

Ms Armitage,
Ms Howlett,
Ms Rattray,
Mr Valentine
Ms Webb, and
Mr Willie
be of Committee 'B'

And that the Committees report on the Government Businesses by no later than 15 December 2023.

If the Legislative Council is not sitting when the Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees complete their reports, those reports may be presented to the President or if the President is unable to act, to the Deputy President or other Office holder and in that event:—

- (a) the reports shall be deemed to have been presented to the Council;
- (b) the publication of the reports is authorised by this Resolution;
- (c) the President, Deputy President or other Office holder, as the case may be, may give directions for the printing and circulation of the reports; and
- (d) the President, Deputy President or other Office holder, as the case may be, shall direct the Clerk to lay the reports upon the Table at the next sitting of the Council. (Ms Forrest)

CATHERINE VICKERS

Clichers

Clerk of the Legislative Council