

# **Workplace Culture Oversight**

#### **MEETING COMMUNIQUE**

#### Thursday, 4 July 2024

The Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met on Thursday, 4 July 2024. At this meeting, the Committee received briefings from the Secretary of Department of Premier and Cabinet and the Clerks of the Parliament in relation to progress updates against Motion for Respect Recommendations.

The Committee also received a briefing from Principal, Dr Julie West, Workplace Research Associates in relation to the Workplace Research – *Report on the Structure of the Tasmanian Parliamentary Services* – February 2024 in response to Motion for Respect Recommendation 3.

Motion for Respect Recommendation 3 reads as follows —

### Acknowledge the need for change and initial steps for action

The Committee is to commission an independent review of Ministerial and Parliamentary Services organisational and governance structure, including an audit of instruments of appointment, employment conditions, recruitment processes and pay structures.

The Committee agreed that the Independent Project Manager (IPM) and the Motion for Respect Team (MFRT) provide a project update to the Committee regarding Motion for Respect Recommendations. This meeting is scheduled for 17 July 2024 and following this meeting, an implementation tracker will be published on the Committee's webpage providing an update against all Motion for Respect Recommendations.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, <u>Implementation Trackers</u> are available on the Committee's <u>webpage</u> to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the <u>Motion for Respect Report</u> to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated

information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly

The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy Chair)
The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP
Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP

## **Legislative Council**

The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)

Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC

Hon Sarah Lovell MLC

ends