

Joint Sessional Committee Commission of Inquiry Recommendations Scrutiny Committee

On Thursday, 13 June 2024 and Tuesday, 18 June 2024 respectively, the House of Assembly and the Legislative Council resolved that a Joint Sessional Committee be appointed to inquire into and report upon matters related to the Recommendations made in the Final Report of the Commission of Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's Response to Child Sexual Abuse in Institutional Settings, including:

- a) the Tasmanian Government's response and plan to implement the Recommendations;
- b) the Tasmanian Government's progress in implementing the Recommendations;
- c) outcomes related to implementation of the Recommendations, both partially and fully implemented;
- d) monitoring progress reports provided to Parliament, as provided for by Recommendation 22.1 by the independent Child Safety Reform Implementation Monitor (when appointed);
- e) overseeing the performance and proper execution of functions of the Commission for Children and Young People, as provided for by Recommendation 18.9;
- f) any other relevant matters that either House may refer to the Sessional Committee; and
- g) any other matters incidental thereto.

On Monday 9 December 2024, the Committee resolved to invite written submissions into the implementation of the 191 recommendations made in the Final Report from individuals or organisations with responsibility or involvement in the delivery of, or who are currently impacted by or have experience in, the implementation of these recommendations.

The Committee invites written submissions from interested individuals or organisations to inform the Committee's oversight of the implementation of these recommendations. **Electronic submissions are encouraged** and all submissions can be provided to:

Inquiry Secretary, Parliament House, HOBART 7000 coir@parliament.tas.gov.au

Phone: (03) 6212 2249

The Committee's Terms of Reference and other relevant information are also available on Inquiry webpage: https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/committees/joint-committees/sessional-committees/recommendations-of-final-report-of-the-commission-of-inquiry

Submissions will be accepted only where they directly relate to the role or experience of implementation of the recommendations. This Inquiry cannot consider individual cases/disputes. Submissions should be received by no later than close of business on **Friday, 14 February 2025.**

Members of the Committee:

Legislative Council

Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Hon Sarah Lovell MLC
Hon Cassy O'Connor MLC
Hon Meg Webb MLC

House of Assembly

Mrs Miriam Beswick MP Ms Cecily Rosol MP Mr Nic Street MP Ms Rebecca White MP