

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

## 30 March 2017

## **ENERGY ENTITIES INQUIRY - SUMMONS TO TREASURER**

A statement from Hon Ivan Dean MLC, Chair of the Public Accounts Committee.

The Treasurer Hon Peter Gutwein MP advised the Committee at a public hearing this morning that he would not comply with the terms of the summons that was issued to him by hand on 21 March 2017.

The summons required that the Treasurer produce an unredacted copy of his letter addressed to the Minister for Energy titled *The Sale of the Tamar Valley Power Station* dated 9 April 2015.

At this morning's hearing the Chair informed the Treasurer that failure to comply with the summons is a very serious matter which may consitute a contempt of Parliament.

The Committee will be referring the matter to both Houses of the Parliament of Tasmania for further consideration. The Committee will continue to focus on the completion of its Energy Inquiry Report and the Committee will be making no further comment on this particular matter.

The Members of the Committee are Hon Ivan Dean MLC (Chair), Ms Sarah Courtney MP (Deputy Chair), Mr Scott Bacon MP, Hon Ruth Forrrest MLC, Hon Mike Gaffney MLC and Mrs Joan Rylah MP.

Ends

For further information: Ivan Dean MLC - 0417 364 375