

FRIDAY 30 SEPTEMBER 2022

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT SESSIONAL COMMITTEE WORKPLACE CULTURE OVERSIGHT

On Tuesday, 27 September 2022 the Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) held its first establishment meeting in response to the Motion for Respect: Report into Workplace Culture in the Tasmanian Ministerial and Parliamentary Services.

The Committee met to formally establish the Committee by appointing a Chair and Deputy Chair. The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP was elected Chair and Independent Member for Murchison, the Hon Ruth Forrest MLC was elected Deputy Chair.

The Committee noted at the meeting that the appointment of an appropriately resourced independent project manager/team plays an integral role in the implementation of recommendations from the Motion for Respect Report, all of which have been accepted in principle by the relevant employers. The Committee will be meeting in the near future to further discuss support required to progress the recommendations.

Membership of the Committee —

House of Assembly
The Premier, Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Chair)
The Speaker, Hon Mark Shelton MP
Cassy O'Connor MP
Rebecca White MP

Legislative Council Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Deputy Chair) The President, Hon Craig Farrell MLC Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC Hon Sarah Lovell MLC