

Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Media Advisory

Wednesday, 19 June 2024 (updated 20 June 2024)

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) is continuing its targeted inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the planning for the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart.

The Committee is considering amongst other factors: matters related to the Club Funding and Development Agreement (Agreement) signed between the Crown in the Right of Tasmania and Australian Football League; the suitability of Macquarie Point as the site for a proposed the Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct; the financial risks associated with the Agreement; matters related to the financing and delivery of the entire proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct; the future of Blundstone Arena and UTAS Stadium; and any other incidental matters.

The Committee will conduct a public hearing to obtain further information to the Inquiry.

The hearing will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 10:00 am on Friday, 21 June 2024. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link <u>http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/</u>.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) Hon Luke Edmunds MLC Hon Bec Thomas MLC House of Assembly Mr Simon Behrakis MP Mr Mark Shelton MP Mr Josh Willie MP (Deputy Chair)

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) - 0419 879 524



Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

Public Hearing Schedule

Public Hearing:

Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart

Date: Venue:	J	
Time		Witnesses
10:15 am – 11:00 am		Ms Anne Beach (Chief Executive Officer) Mr Kim Evans (Chairperson) Macquarie Point Development Corporation
11:00 am – 11:45 am		<u>Submission No. 4 (New ToR)</u> Ms Janice Overett Mr Brian Chapman No Stadium Yes Team Group
11:45 ar	n – 12:30 pm	<u>Submission No. 17 (New ToR)</u> Mr Roland Browne Mr Shamus Mulcahy Mr Mat Hinds Our Place – Hobart Group
01:15 pr TBC	n – 02:00 pm	<u>Submission No. 21 (New ToR)</u> Ms Margaret Taylor (President) Mr Julian Bush Hobart Not Highrise
02:00 pm – 02:45 pm		<u>Submission No. 883 (Old ToR)</u> Mr Russell Hanson Mr Jim Wilkinson