Media Release



House of Assembly Select Committee on Firearms Legislation and Policy

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

Public Hearings Schedule

The Committee will be holding public hearings at Parliament House in Hobart on Friday, 30 November and at Henty House, 1 Civic Square, Launceston on 3 December in relation to its inquiry into Firearms Legislation and Policy in Tasmania.

Over the course of the inquiry, the Committee will hear from individuals, Government agencies, industry organisations, political organisations, professionals, representative bodies and sporting associations.

The schedules for the first two public hearings are listed below. The Committee will hold further public hearings in the near future.

Friday 30 November 2018 – Parliament House, Hobart

Time	Organisation	Witness
9:00am	Sporting Shooters Association of Australia (Tas)	Donald Riddell, Senior Vice President & Andrew Judd, President
10:00am	Commissioner for Children and Young People Tasmania	Leanne McLean, Commissioner
11:00am	Alannah & Madeline Foundation	Stephen Bendle, Advocacy & Campaigns Advisor (Gun Control) & Mark Warburton
12:00pm	Shooters, Fishers and Farmers Tasmania	Carlo de Falco, Spokesperson
1:30pm	National Council of Women Tasmania	Sally McGushin, Hon. Secretary
2:30pm	Royal Australian College of General Practitioners	Matthew Rush, State Manager
3:00pm	Health and Community Services Union	Robbie Moore, Assistant Secretary

3 December 2018 – Henty House, Launceston

Time	Organisation	Witness
9.00am	Tasmanian Pistol Association	Craig Moore, Spokesperson
10:00am	Shooters Union Tasmania	Alistair Shephard, President
11:00am	Tasmanian Farmers & Graziers Association	Nick Steel, Policy & Rural Affairs Manager
12:00pm	Arms Collectors Guild of Tasmania	John Green, President & Andrew Harvey, Secretary
1:15pm	Tasmanian Rifle Association Inc.	Dr Paul Monaghan & Mark Walters, Spokespersons
2:00pm	Charlton Hunters Club	Andrew Winwood, Spokesperson
2:30pm	Australian Firearms Management Lobby	William John Wilcher, Spokesperson
3:30pm	Tasmanian Deer Advisory Committee Inc.	Mathew Allan, Chairman