

## **Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts**

# Media Advisory

Wednesday, 21 June 2023

#### **Public Hearing:**

### Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart

The Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts (Committee) is continuing its targeted inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the planning for the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart.

The Committee is considering amongst other factors: matters related to the Club Funding and Development Agreement (Agreement) signed between the Crown in the Right of Tasmania and Australian Football League; the suitability of Macquarie Point as the site for a proposed the Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct; the financial risks associated with the Agreement; matters related to the financing and delivery of the entire proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct; the future of Blundstone Arena and UTAS Stadium; and any other incidental matters.

The Committee will conduct a public hearing to obtain further details from submissions to the Inquiry.

The hearings will be held in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart and will commence at 2:00 pm on Friday, 23 June 2023. The timetable and details of witnesses are attached.

The public hearings will also be broadcast via the Parliamentary Broadcast Service and will be available at the following link <u>http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/</u>.

The Members of the Committee are:

Legislative Council Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) Hon Meg Webb MLC Hon Josh Willie MLC House of Assembly Ms Lara Alexander MP Dr Shane Broad MP Mr Dean Young MP

Further information about the Committee is available on the Committee website.

ends

#### Further information: Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) - 0419 879 524



## Parliamentary Standing Committee of Public Accounts

# **Public Hearing Schedule**

#### **Public Hearing:**

### Inquiry into the Tasmanian Government's process into the proposed Arts, Entertainment and Sports Precinct in Hobart

Date: Venue:	Friday, 23 June 2023 Committee Room 2 – Parliament House, Hobart	
Time		Witnesses
2:00 pm	– 3:00 pm	<b>Professor Greg Lehman (Pro Vice-Chancellor, Aboriginal Leadership)</b> University of Tasmania
3:00 pm	– 5:00 pm	Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP Premier
		Departmental Representatives Vanessa Field (Chief of Staff – Premier's Office) Ned Whitehouse (Senior Adviser – Premier's Office) Kim Evans (Secretary – Department of State Growth) Brett Stewart (Deputy Secretary, Transport and Infrastructure – DSG) Gary Swain (Deputy Secretary, Transport and Infrastructure – DSG) Anne Beach (A/Chief Executive Officer – Macquarie Point Development Corporation)