

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

p:+ 61 3 6212 2331 e: <u>david.pearce@parliament.tas.gov.au</u>
Parliament of Tasmania, Hobart, TAS 7000
www.parliament.tas.gov.au

12 November 2019

MEMORANDUM for:

The Clerk Assistant/Usher of the Black Rod

On Tuesday 29 October 2019 the Legislative Council resolved: —

That two Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees be established to inquire into Government Businesses in accordance with the schedule detailed below and rules as set out in the Standing Orders at Part 22.

That the Committees have leave to sit on Thursday, 5 December and Friday, 6 December 2019 between the hours of 9.00 a.m. and 5.00 p.m. and at other times as necessary for the purpose of relevant stakeholder and deliberative meetings.

For 2019 Government Businesses are allocated to the Committees as follows-

Committee "A"

Thursday, 5 December 2019

Hydro Tasmania, Sustainable Timber Tasmania and TasNetworks

Pty Ltd

Committee "B"

Friday, 6 December 2019

Tasmanian Ports Corporation Pty Ltd, The Public Trustee and TT

Line Company Pty Ltd

And that -

Mr Finch,

Ms Forrest,

Mr Gaffney,

Ms Lovell

Mr Valentine and

Ms Webb

be of Committee A

and

Ms Armitage,
Mr Armstrong,
Mr Dean,
Ms Howlett,
Ms Rattray,
Ms Siejka, and
Mr Willie
be of Committee B

And that the Committees report on the Government Businesses by no later than 19 December 2019.

If the Legislative Council is not sitting when the Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees complete their reports, those reports may be presented to the President or if the President is unable to act, to the Deputy President or other Office holder and in that event —

- (a) the reports shall be deemed to have been presented to the Council;
- (b) the publication of the reports is authorised by this Resolution;
- (c) the President, Deputy President or other Office holder, as the case may be, may give directions for the printing and circulation of the reports; and
- (d) the President, Deputy President or other Office holder, as the case may be, shall direct the Clerk to lay the reports upon the Table at the next sitting of the Council.

D.T. PEARCE

Clerk of the Legislative Council