

PARLIAMENT OF TASMANIA Legislative Council

GOVERNMENT BUSINESSES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 'A' 2015

Report with Minutes of Proceedings

Members of the Committee:

Hon Robert Armstrong MLC Hon Craig Farrell MLC Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair) Hon Mike Gaffney MLC Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC (Deputy Chair) Hon Tony Mulder MLC

MINUTES

WEDNESDAY, 2 DECEMBER 2015

The Committee met at 10.36 am in Committee Room No. 1, Parliament House, Hobart.

Present:

Mr Farrell Ms Forrest (Chair) Mr Gaffney Mrs Hiscutt (Deputy Chair) Mr Mulder

In Attendance:

Ms Jenny Leaman (Assistant Committee Secretary) Ms Allison Waddington (Executive Assistant)

Minutes:

The Minutes of the meeting held on 17 November 2015 were confirmed as a true and accurate record.

Correspondence:

The inwards and outwards correspondence was endorsed and received.

At 10.38 am the Committee commenced informal discussions with stakeholders.

[Mr *Armstrong* took his seat at 10.41 am] [Mr *Gaffney* left his seat at 10.42 am] [Mr *Gaffney* took his seat at 10.46 am]

The Committee suspended at 11.49 am.

The Committee resumed informal discussions with stakeholders at 12.16 pm.

The Committee suspended at 1.14 pm.

The Committee resumed informal discussions with stakeholders at 2.00 pm.

[Mr Mulder took his seat at 2.03 pm] [Mrs Hiscutt took her seat at 2.03 pm] [Mr Armstrong took his seat at 2.04 pm] [Mr Armstrong left his seat at 2.19 pm] [Mr Armstrong took his seat at 2.21 pm] [Mr Armstrong retired at 2.41 pm] [Mr Gaffney left his seat at 2.46 pm] [Mr Gaffney took his seat at 2.50 pm]

[Mrs *Hiscutt* left her seat at 3.05 pm] [Mrs *Hiscutt* took her seat at 3.06 pm]

The Committee suspended at 3.11 pm.

The Committee resumed informal discussions with stakeholders at 3.12 pm.

[Mr *Mulder* left his seat at 3.33 pm]

The Committee suspended at 4.22 pm until 7.45 am on Thursday, 3 December 2015.

THURSDAY 3 DECEMBER 2015

The Committee met at 7.56 am in Committee Room No. 2, Parliament House, Hobart.

Present:

Mr Armstrong Mr Farrell Ms Forrest (Chair) Mr Gaffney Mrs Hiscutt (Deputy Chair)

Apology:

Mr Mulder

In Attendance:

Ms Jenny Leaman (Assistant Committee Secretary)

HYDRO TASMANIA

At 7.56 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Matthew Groom MP, Minister for Energy Mr Grant Every-Burns, Chairman Mr Stephen Davy, Chief Executive Officer Mr Miles Smith, Chief Financial Officer

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

Questions on Notice

• Has the Government responded to the 6 monthly review of the Energy Strategy (MG)

The Committee suspended at 9.20 am The Committee resumed at 9.38 am The witnesses withdrew at 10.39 am

The Committee suspended at 10.39 am The Committee resumed at 10.52 am

TASNETWORKS PTY LTD

At 10.52 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Matthew Groom MP, Minister for Energy Lance Balcombe, Chief Executive Officer Dan Norton, Chairman of the TasNetworks Board Ross Burridge, General Manager Finance & Business Services Bess Clark, General Manager Strategy & Stakeholder Relations Linda Manaena, Communications and Brand Leader

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

Question on Notice

• Please provide a list of mini hydro schemes (RA)

The witnesses withdrew at 12.23 pm.

[Mr *Armstrong* retired at 12.23 pm]

The Committee suspended at 12.23 pm The Committee resumed at 1.16 pm

TASMANIAN PORTS CORPORATION PTY LTD

At 1.16 pm the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Rene Hidding MP, Minister for Infrastructure Dr Dan Norton, Chairman Paul Weedon, CEO Geoff Duggan, Chief Financial Officer

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

Question on Notice

• Was there an independent valuation of the Triabunna Wharf (CF)

The Committee suspended at 2.35 pm The Committee resumed at 2.52 pm The witnesses withdrew at 3.39 pm

Next Meeting

10 am on Friday, 11 December 2015 (via teleconference).

The Chair (or southern based Member) is to present the report of the Committee to the Acting President out of session during the week commencing 14 December 2015 (subject to the availability of the Acting President) at a time to be confirmed.

<u>Adjournment</u>

At 3.46 pm the Committee adjourned until Friday, 11 December 2015.

DATE: 11/12/15

CONFIRMED

flons

CHAIR