

PARLIAMENT OF TASMANIA Legislative Council

GOVERNMENT BUSINESSES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 'A' 2016

Report with Minutes of Proceedings

Members of the Committee:

Hon Robert Armstrong MLC Hon Craig Farrell MLC Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Deputy Chair) Hon Mike Gaffney MLC Hon Greg Hall MLC (Chair) Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC Hon Tony Mulder MLC

MINUTES

MONDAY, 5 DECEMBER 2016

The Committee met at 11.19 am in Committee Room No. 1, Parliament House, Hobart.

Present:

Mr Armstrong Mr Farrell Ms Forrest (Deputy Chair) Mr Gaffney Mr Hall (Chair) Mrs Hiscutt

Apologies:

Nil

In Attendance:

Ms Allison Waddington (Acting Secretary)

<u>Minutes</u>:

The Minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday, 15 November 2016 were confirmed as a true and accurate record.

Correspondence:

The inwards and outwards correspondence was endorsed and received.

The Committee suspended at 11.22 am The Committee resumed at 11.31 am

At 11.31 am the Committee commenced informal discussions with stakeholders.

(Mr *Gaffney* left his seat at 11.50 am) (Mr *Gaffney* took his seat at 11.53 am)

The Committee suspended at 12.05 pm.

The Committee resumed informal discussions with stakeholders at 1.02 pm.

(Ms Forrest took her seat at 1.05pm) (Mrs Hiscutt left her seat at 1.18 pm) (Mrs Hiscutt took her seat at 1.21 pm) (Mr Armstrong left his seat at 1.46 pm) (Mr Armstrong took his seat at 1.49 pm) (Mr Gaffney left his seat at 2.10 pm) (Mr Gaffney took his seat at 2.12 pm) The Committee suspended at 2.21 pm until 8.50 am on Tuesday, 6 December 2016.

TUESDAY, 6 DECEMBER 2016

The Committee met at 9.00 am in Committee Room No. 2, Parliament House, Hobart.

Present:

Mr Armstrong Mr Farrell Mr Gaffney Mr Hall (Chair) Mrs Hiscutt

Apologies:

Nil

In Attendance:

Ms Allison Waddington (Acting Secretary)

TASMANIAN RAILWAY PTY LTD

At 9.00 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Rene Hidding MP, Minister for Infrastructure Mr Robert Annells, Chair Mr Damien White, Chief Executive Officer

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

(Ms *Forrest* took her seat at 9.01 am)

Questions on Notice

- Tamping program hours worked by the tamper
- Ballast composition dolerite vs basalt
- Explanation of remuneration increase particularly in regard to the amounts over \$30,000
- \$20 million not accounted for with external spend

The witnesses withdrew at 10.03 am.

The Committee suspended at 10.03 am The Committee resumed at 10.10 am

TASMANIAN PUBLIC FINANCE CORPORATION

At 10.10 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Peter Gutwein MP, Treasurer Mr Tony Ferrall, Chair Mr Stephen Rochester, Chief Executive Officer Mr Ignacio Welch, Chief Financial Officer

The Treasurer provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

(Mr Armstrong took his seat at 10.21 am) (Mr Gaffney left his seat at 10.26 am) (Mr Gaffney took his seat at 10.39 am)

The witnesses withdrew at 11.02 am.

The Committee suspended at 11.02 am The Committee resumed at 11.40 am

AURORA ENERGY PTY LTD

At 11.40 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon. Matthew Groom MP, Minister for Energy Ms Caryle Demarte, Chair Mrs Rebecca Kardos, Chief Executive Officer Mr Grant Russell, General Manager Customer Operations Mr Kane Ingham, Group Manager Commercial Services

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

(Mr Gaffney took his seat at 11.42 am)

Question on Notice

• Provide price comparison of tariffs in other jurisdictions

(Mr Armstrong left his seat at 12.56 pm)

The witnesses withdrew at 1.08 pm

The Committee suspended at 1.08 pm The Committee resumed at 2.02 pm

TASMANIAN WATER AND SEWERAGE CORPORATION PTY LTD

At 2.02 pm the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Mayor David Downie, Chair, Owners Representative Group Mayor Tony Bisdee, Southern Midlands Council The Chair provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

(Mr Mulder took his seat at 2.12 pm)

Question on Notice

• Provide copy of the current Corporate Plan

The witnesses withdrew at 2.55 pm

The Committee suspended at 2.55 pm The Committee resumed at 3.07 pm

At 3.07 pm the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Mr Miles Hampton, Chair, TasWater Mr Mike Brewster, Chief Executive Officer Mr Dean Page, General Manager Finance & Commercial

The Chair provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

(Mr Armstrong left his seat at 4.12 pm) (Mr Armstrong took his seat at 4.18 pm)

Questions on Notice

- Provide copy of 10 year Financial Plan
- Breakdown of consultants how much and whom

The witnesses withdrew at 4.35 pm

The Chair (or southern based Member) is to present the report of the Committee to the President out of session during the week commencing 12 December 2016 (subject to the availability of the President) at a time to be confirmed.

Next Meeting

At 10.30 am on 12 December 2016 (via teleconference).

<u>Adjournment</u>

At 4.43 pm the Committee adjourned until 12 December 2016.

DATE: 12/12/16

CONFIRMED

flons

CHAIR