2024 (No. 6)



PARLIAMENT OF TASMANIA

REPORT OF THE STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE ON

Title of the Speaker

Brought up by the Leader of the House and ordered by the House of Assembly to be printed.

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Hon. Michelle O'Byrne MP (Chair)
Hon. Eric Abetz MP
Mr Vica Bayley MP
Mr Simon Behrakis MP
Dr Shane Broad MP
Ms Anita Dow MP
Hon. Jacquie Petrusma MP

1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 This reference was referred to the Committee by the Speaker as Chair of the Committee for consideration of the terminology associated with the Speaker.

2. STANDING ORDERS

- 2.1 The Standing Orders of the House of Assembly are silent on the title of the Speaker.
- 2.2 However, it is customary for Members to refer to a Speaker as "Mr Speaker" or "Madam Speaker" in the House.

3. ISSUES CONSIDERED

3.1 The Committee gave consideration to the desirability of the House's Standing Orders and terminology being gender-neutral. A number of gender specific terms have already been removed from the Standing Orders by the House's previous resolutions.

4. RECOMMENDATIONS

The Committee recommends that the Standing Orders be amended as follows:

After Standing Order 142, insert the following Standing Order:

142A Title of Speaker

Members must address the Speaker by the title "Speaker", or "Honourable Speaker".

HON. MICHELLE O'BYRNE MP CHAIR OF THE COMMITTEE 11 JUNE 2024