

Joint Sessional Committee Workplace Culture Oversight

MEETING COMMUNIQUE

Wednesday, 23 April 2025

The Joint Sessional Committee on Workplace Culture Oversight (the Committee) met today and received a briefing update from Mr Andrew Young, Consultant and Motion for Respect Project Team (MRPT) which included as follows:

- A draft in progress Independent Complaints Framework for Members of the Tasmanian Parliament (Recommendation 5) was considered by the Committee. Further consultation to be undertaken with the Integrity Commission. An update will be provided at the next meeting.
- 2. Further drafts of the Code of Conduct for Members and Alcohol and Other Drugs Members' Statement (Recommendation 6.1 & 6.5) were provided and considered by the Committee due to further consultation undertaken since the last meeting. The Committee has made further amendments to the Code of Conduct for Members and will consider further at the next meeting.

Due to this meeting being an additional meeting between the set monthly meetings, no report updates were received from the Clerks and DPAC. The implementation tracker has been updated accordingly to reflect MRPT's updates and is available on the Committee's <u>webpage</u>. The Committee is scheduled to meet next Tuesday, 6 May 2025.

The Committee notes the importance of this review and encourages employees across each employee group to become fully informed and engaged to collectively work towards providing a better workplace for all employees.

The Committee further notes that change can be challenging and commits to providing ongoing updates to inform all interested parties.

For further information regarding the Committee's activity in overseeing implementation of Motion for Respect Report Recommendations, <u>Implementation Trackers</u> are available on the Committee's <u>webpage</u> to enable all interested parties, including all current and past employees of the MPS Workplace (as defined by the <u>Motion for Respect Report</u> to include elected Members of Parliament, Ministerial and Parliamentary Support employees, Parliament House employees and people performing contracted services) to access updated information in relation to progress of implementation of Motion for Respect Report Report Recommendations.

These documents will be updated regularly and any further relevant information provided to the Committee related to progress of the recommendations to ensure all interested parties have access to current information.

Membership of the Committee (Fifty-First Parliament) —

House of Assembly	Legislative Council
The Premier, the Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP (Deputy	The President, the Hon Craig Farrell MLC
Chair) The Speaker, the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MP	Hon Ruth Forrest MLC (Chair)
Mrs Rebekah Pentland MP	Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC
Dr Rosalie Woodruff MP	Hon Sarah Lovell MLC
ends	