

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

p:+ 61 3 6212 2331 e: <u>catherine.vickers@parliament.tas.gov.au</u> Parliament of Tasmania, Hobart, TAS 7000 www.parliament.tas.gov.au

29 October 2024

MEMORANDUM FOR :

Clerk-Assistant & Usher of the Black Rod

I write to advise that the Legislative Council today resolved —

That two Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees be established to inquire into Government Businesses in accordance with the schedule detailed below and rules as set out in the Standing Orders at Part 22.

That the Committees have leave to sit on Tuesday, 3 December and Wednesday, 4 December 2024 between the hours of 9.00 a.m. and 6.00 p.m. or such other time as varied by the Chair and as necessary for the purpose of relevant stakeholder and deliberative meetings.

For 2024 Government Businesses are allocated to the Committees as follows-

Committee A

Tuesday, 3 December Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation, Tasmanian Water and Sewerage Corporation Pty Ltd, Metro Tasmania Pty Ltd, Aurora Energy Pty Ltd

Committee B

Wednesday, 4 December 2024 Tasmanian Railways Pty Ltd, TasRacing Pty Ltd, Tasmanian Irrigation Pty Ltd, Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority, Motor Accidents Insurance Board

And that –

Ms Forrest, Mr Harriss, Ms Lovell, Ms O'Connor, and Ms Thomas be of Committee A and

Ms Armitage, Mr Edmunds, Mr Gaffney, Ms Rattray, and Ms Webb be of Committee B

And that the Committees report on the Government Businesses by no later than 20 December 2024.

If the Legislative Council is not sitting when the Government Businesses Scrutiny Committees complete their reports, those reports may be presented to the President or if the President is unable to act, to the Deputy President or other Office holder and in that event —

- (a) the reports shall be deemed to have been presented to the Council;
- (b) the publication of the reports is authorised by this Resolution;
- (c) the President, Deputy President or other Office holder, as the case may be, may give directions for the printing and circulation of the reports; and
- (d) the President, Deputy President or other Office holder, as the case may be, shall direct the Clerk to lay the reports upon the Table at the next sitting of the Council.

Clichers

CATHERINE VICKERS Clerk of the Legislative Council