

GOVERNMENT BUSINESSES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 'B' 2016

Report with Minutes of Proceedings

Members of the Committee:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC
Hon Ivan Dean MLC
Hon Kerry Finch MLC
Hon Tania Rattray MLC (Chair)
Hon Rob Valentine MLC (Deputy Chair)
Hon Josh Willie MLC

MINUTES

TUESDAY, 6 DECEMBER 2016

The Committee met at 1.31 pm in Committee Room No. 1, Parliament House, Hobart.

Present:

Mrs Armitage Mr Finch Ms Rattray (Chair) Mr Valentine (Deputy Chair) Mr Willie

In Attendance:

Ms Exel (Committee Secretary)

[Mr *Dean* took his place at the table at 1.34 pm.]

Confirmation of Minutes

The Minutes of the meeting of Tuesday, 8 November 2016 were confirmed as a true and accurate record.

Stakeholder Meetings

At 1.35 pm the Committee commenced informal discussions with stakeholders.

[Mr Willie left his seat at 2.22 pm.]
[Mr Willie took his place at the table at 2.25 pm.]
[Mr Finch left his seat at 3.34 pm]
[Mr Finch took his place at the table at 3.38 pm]
[Mr Valentine left his chair at 4.59 pm.]
[Mr Willie left his seat at 5.03 pm.]

The Committee suspended at 5.14 pm until 8.50 am on Wednesday, 7 December 2016.

WEDNESDAY 7 DECEMBER 2016

The Committee met at 8.50am in Committee Room 2, Parliament House, Hobart.

Present:

Mrs Armitage

Mr Dean

Mr Finch

Ms Rattray (Chair)

Mr Valentine (Deputy Chair)

Mr Willie

In Attendance:

Ms Exel (Committee Secretary)

TASMANIAN IRRIGATION PTY LTD

At 8.55 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP, Minister for Primary Industries and Water
Ms Samantha Hogg, Chairperson, Tasmanian Irrigation Pty Ltd
Ms Nicola Morris, CEO, Tasmanian Irrigation Pty Ltd
Mr Luke Curtain, General Manager, Commercial and Business Development,
Tasmanian Irrigation Pty Ltd

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

The witnesses withdrew at 10.20 am.

The Committee suspended at 10.20 am. The Committee resumed at 10.30 am.

PORT ARTHUR HISTORIC SITE MANAGEMENT AUTHORITY

Hon Matthew Groom MP, Minister for Environment, Parks and Heritage Professor Sharon Sullivan AO, Chair, PAHSMA Board Mr Stephen Large, Chief Executive Officer PAHSMA Dr Jane Harrington, Director Conservation and Infrastructure

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

[Mrs *Armitage* left her seat at 11.24 am] [Mrs *Armitage* took her place at the table at 11.25 am]

The witnesses withdrew at 11.31am.

The Committee suspended at 11.31 am

METRO TASMANIA PTY LTD

At 11.33 am the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon Rene Hidding MP, Minister for Infrastructure Ms Lynn Mason, Chairperson Mr Stuart Wiggins, Chief Executive Officer

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

[Mr Finch left his seat at 12.02 pm] [Mr Finch took his place at the table at 12.04 pm]

Ouestions on Notice

- Provide a breakdown of the remaining \$35.778 million in revenue from contract payments between:
 - a) the three urban areas serviced by Metro;
 - b) the numerous urban fringe areas serviced by Metro across the State; and
 - c) any additional payments Metro receives above its top-up.
- Provide a breakdown of fare box revenue between urban services and urban fringe services.
- Provide a breakdown of revenue between students, adult concession passengers and full-fare passengers for both urban and urban fringe areas.
- What mechanism does Metro use to consult with customers regarding changes to routes and services, particularly in relation to changes to an afternoon service in Tolman's Hill.

[Mrs *Armitage* left her seat at 12.48 pm] [Mrs *Armitage* took her place at the table at 12.49 pm]

The witnesses withdrew at 1.03 pm

The Committee suspended at 1.04 pm The Committee resumed at 2.00 pm

MOTOR ACCIDENTS INSURANCE BOARD

At 2.01pm the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon. Rene Hidding MP, Minister for Infrastructure Mr Don Challen, Chairman, Motor Accidents Insurance Board

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

[Mrs *Armitage* took her place at the table at 2.10 pm]
[Mr *Finch* left his seat at 3.05 pm]
[Mr *Willie* left his seat at 3.06 pm]

[Mr Finch took his place at the table at 3.07 pm]
[Mr Willie took his place at the table at 3.08 pm]
[Mr Finch left his seat at 3.11 pm]
[Mr Finch took his place at the table at 3.14 pm]

The witnesses withdrew at 3.16 pm

The Committee suspended at 3.17 pm The Committee resumed at 3.28 pm

TASRACING PTY LTD

At 3.29 pm the following witnesses appeared before the Committee:

Hon. Jeremy Rockliff MP, Minister for Racing Mr Dean Cooper, Chairman Mr Mark Tarring, Chief Financial Officer

The Minister provided a brief overview and the Committee proceeded to questions.

[Mrs Armitage left her seat at 3.47 pm] [Mrs Armitage took her place at the table at 3.48 pm] [Mr Finch left his seat at 4.02 pm]

Questions on Notice

- Provide, if possible, a breakdown of the numbers of Tasmanian and interstate buyers at the 2016 Tasmanian Magic Millions sale;
- Provide information on whether there has been any communication with Betfair regarding its decision to relocate to the Northern Territory;
- Provide information on any jobs loses at Technopark as a result of the Betfair relocation.

The witnesses withdrew at 5.00 pm

Next Meeting

TBA.

Adjournment

At 5.05 pm the Committee adjourned.

DATE: 14/12/16 CONFIRMED

CHAIR

Varia Rottrory