Legislative Council Sessional Committee Government Administration A

Tobacco Free Generation



Hon Robert Armstrong MLC
Hon Craig Farrell MLC (Chair)
Hon Ruth Forrest MLC
Hon Leonie Hiscutt MLC
Hon Tony Mulder MLC (Deputy Chair)
Hon Rob Valentine MLC


Inquiry Secretary:

Ms Jenny Mannering
Phone (03) 6212 2249
Fax:  (03) 6212 2345



Current Reference:

Terms of Reference

Public Health Amendment (Tobacco Free Generation) Bill 2014



How to make a Submission

Witness Information


Public Hearings:

Monday 14 September 2015

Media Releases:

9 May 2015

11 September 2015

6 July 2016
Media Release




ADATB and UTAS Centre for Rural Health

Lana Morris

St Helens Newsagency

Free Choice Kingston

Lois Ireland

Murdunna Store (Brad Westcott)

Human Rights and Tobacco Control Network

Robert Gosling

Cliff Meier

Chigwell News

Ruth Malone (University of California)

Hillys IGA St Helens

Australian Association of Convenience Stores

Swansea IGA X-Press

Cignall Wynyard

IGA Express Penguin

Super IGA Shearwater

Acton Milk Bar

George Town Takeaways

Palmers Tobacconist Devonport

Sohee Kim

Monaghans Lucky (Kevin Wade)

Eastside Village Newsagency (Luke Scott)

Fourways Tattslotto (Andrew Lockwood)

Tim Rundle

DHHS (Public Health Services and Director of Public Health )

Harry Lando (University of Minnesota)

IGA Everyday Ulverstone (Paul Raistric)

Tobacco Station North Hobart (Garry Martin)

Professor Jon Berrick

Morris Store Swansea

Smokefree Tasmania

Master Grocers Australia

Professor Judith MacKay

ASH (Chris Bostick)

Sally Woolley

Cygnet Newsagency

Tasmanian Hospitality Association

Imperial Tobacco Australia

British American Tobacco

Cristie Bowler

BLH Group (Shane Gill)

TSG George Town (Tony Lloyd)

Brendan Limbrick

Alliance of Australian Retailers

TSG Sorell (Stuart Palmer)

Cignall Hobart (Saad Mohamad)

Warrane Newsagency (Bev Douglas)

National Stroke Foundation (Mitch Ratajkoski)

Dr Maureen Davey (UTAS)

Cignall Stewart Street

Australian Retailers Association

Phillip Morris Ltd

National Independent Retailer Association

Seana Gall (Menzies Institute)

Dr Nick Towle

Australian Newsagents' Federation Ltd

Morgan Begg

Tasmanian Independant Retailers

News Xpress Launceston

Dr Adrian Reynolds

Tasmanian Government



Monday 14 September 2015


Tabled Documents:

Legal Advice received from Brendan Gogarty dated 16 February 2016

A reply to Brendan Gogarty's legal analysis of the Public Health Amendment (Yvette van der Eijk) dated 12 April 2016

Ivan Dean response, Memorandum of Advice from Mr Neil Francey and advice from Wendy Parmet dated 13 May 2016



Report - Tabled 6 July 2016

Government Response to Final Report