History Resources - Members of Parliament

David John Bartlett

David John Bartlett


Given Names: David John

Title and Honours: Mr, Honourable

Qualifications: BSc, G.Dip.Bus

Date and Place of Birth: 19 January 1968 - Hobart, Tasmania

Date of Death:



House of Assembly: 1 April 2004

Electorate: Denison

Party: ALP

Positions Held: Minister 2006 - 2011, Deputy Premier 2008 - 2008, Premier 2008 - 2011

Date of Departure: 13 May 2011

Reason for Departure: Resigned

Inaugural Speech (20 April 2004)


Elected by recount to replace ex-Premier Jim Bacon, Resigned as a Minister 13 May 2011. Granted the right to use the title 'Honourable' for life on 14 June 2011.

House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 737

House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.

Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.

Additional Reference Material:

A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968. Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.