Parliament of Tasmania - Eric Abetz

History Resources - Members of Parliament

Eric Abetz

Eric Abetz MP

Surname: ABETZ

Given Names: Eric

Title and Honours: Mr, Honourable


Date and Place of Birth: 25 January 1958, Germany

Date of Death:

House of Assembly:  23 March 2024

Electorate: Franklin

Party: Liberal

Positions Held: Minister, Leader of the House

  • Business, Industry and Resources (11 April 2024 to date)
  • Transport (11 April 2024 to date)
  • Date of Departure:

    Reason for Departure:

    Inaugural Speech


    Chosen by the Parliament of Tasmania on 22.2.1994 under section 15 of the Constitution to represent that State in the Senate, vice B Archer (resigned). Re-elected 1998, 2004, 2010 and 2016.

    Defeated at general elections 2022.

    Granted the right to use the title 'Honourable' for life on 21 October 1998.

    Centenary Medal (2001)

    House of Assembly Long Room Picture: 813

    House of Assembly Long Room Picture Number indicates each Member's position in the photographic record.

    Source: Parliament of Tasmania Members Biographical Database, Tasmanian Parliamentary Library.

    Additional Reference Material:

    A Handbook of Australian Government and Politics, 1890-1964 [by] Colin A. Hughes and B. D. Graham. Canberra, ANU Press, 1968. Biographical Register of the Tasmanian Parliament, 1851-1960 / Scott Bennett and Barbara Bennett. Canberra : ANU, 1980.